Japanese ”Ultimate” will come out again in October

"Ultimate Bee Gees" will come out in October in Japan


"The Ultimate Best of Bee Gees" will come out in Japan on October 17, 2018 as part of UMJ’s campaign  to celebrate the "SNF" 40th anniversary in Japan.

The two-disc set with 41 tracks (with ‘Melody Fair’ included as the bonus track for the Japanese edition) is getting ready for re-release under UMJ; right now, we are busy working on the new accompanying booklet.

This is bittersweet because this website Bee Gees Days was set up in November 2009 in time for the Japanese release of the original "Ultimate" under Warner Music, with special support from Robin.   One of the very first articles in our News section (in Japanese) was about "Ultimate."  That was nine years ago and a lot of things, some extremely sad, have happened during the years that passed.  But as Sir Tim Rice wrote in the essay for "Ultimate," "Within this package is a collection of performances and songs that very few practitioners of popular music of the past could match for quality, originality, and emotion.  It’s the singing, the harmonies, the arrrangements, the sound, the rivalry, the love, the intelligence, the determination, but above all, it’s the songs."  Also, this new edition will come out in SHM-CD.

The track list:

【DISC 1】

1. You Should Be Dancing
2. Stayin’Alive
3.  Jive Talkin’
4.  Nights on Broadway
5.  Tragedy
6.  Night Fever
7.  More Than A Woman
8.  Fanny
9.  Spirits Having Flown
10. If ICan’t Have You
11. Boogie Child
12. Love You Inside Out
13. You Win Again
14. One
15. Secret Love
16. Alone
17. Still Waters
18. This Is Where I Came In
19. Spicks and Specks (Live)

【DISC 2】

1. How Deep Is Your Love
2. To Love Somebody
3. Words
4. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
5. Too Much Heaven
6. Emotion
7. Lonely Days
8. Run To Me
9. Love So Right
10. For Whom The Bell Tolls
11. I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You
12. New York Mining Disaster 1941
13. Massachusetts
14. I Started A Joke
15. World
16. First of May
17. Holiday
18. Don’t Forget To Remember
19. Islands In the Stream (Live)
20. Heartbreaker (Live)
21. Guilty (Live)
22. Melody Fair (Bonus track for Japan)

Obviously, this is but a small fraction of the massive catalog.   Let’s hope this is just the beginning of many more releases to come.

(Update: There has been a change in the release plan, and "Ultimate" will now come out on November 21.  And the track list above is subject to change.  – August 23, 2018

(Update: ’Melody Fair’ will not be included in this release. – September 10, 2018)

{Bee Gees Days}

You may also like...

error: Content is protected !!